Getting Ready For The Summer…

First I’d like to start off by saying Congrats to Abigail Washburn and Bela Fleck, who had a baby boy last night!

Second would like to send my sincerest thoughts out to the Manzerek family. Rock music lost a huge star in Ray Manzerek this afternoon. RIP.

Desperate Man Blues

20130520-222217.jpg

In the state of Connecticut I’m not so sure there many video stores left in existence. In Hamden there is Best Video. It’s not just a clever title, trust me. I’ve literally spent hours browsing through the inventory. The extensive foreign selection , rare and obscure cult films, one of the largest television selections I’ve ever seen. The music section is not surprisingly the greatest I’ve seen.

I picked up Desperate Man Blues. A documentary about obsessive 78rpm record collector Joe Bussard. Joe is in his 70s and has been collecting records since an early teen. Early blues, Jazz and Bluegrass & Country. Bussard does not mess around with LPs and calls Rock n Roll child’s stuff.

Joe has thousands literally thousands of 78s in his basement. A collectors dream. The film follows him around looking through record collections and explains how he came across his rarest records. He is an enthusiastic man when he talks about music and his collection. It was a fun watch.

Summers Coming And The Festivals Are Starting

It’s getting to be that time of year. Outdoor performance time! In the Northeast alone there is a bunch of great festivals coming up. And I plan on making to a few this summer.

Saturday June 8th in Manchester, Ct is the New England Fiddle Contest. In its 39th year the contest gathers Fiddlers from all over New England. The contest will be held in Center Park as part of “Pride In Manchester Week”.
www.fiddlefest.org

July 6th & 7th is the New Bedford Folk Festival in New Bedford, Ma.

20130520-225620.jpg

This will be my first year attending the festival but it looks very promising. Two days of a variety of folk music for $21 for a weekend pass. How can you go wrong with that?

For a list of performers and venues www.newbedfordfolkfestival.com

That’s just the tip of the iceberg for me for this summer.

In closing…

I’m always looking to attend shows. Coffee houses, clubs, restaurants wherever. Let me know and I will be there. I love the music and want to support it and see performers I may not always hear of elsewhere.

Looking for music! I always want to hear new folk, bluegrass, banjo and all related. Get In touch if you want to send a cd this way.

That’s all for now folks, til next time … er, tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Ready For The Summer…

  1. 45spin says:

    Nice Mention on Joe Bussard, and Desperate Man Blues

Leave a Reply

